Brendan Ryan Leads the Charge

(Ed. note:  This post should have appeared Friday AM.  My apologies; clearly I screwed something up.)

I would have lost a lot of money if I’d bet on which Cardinal would hit the first HR of the series at Petco.  Brendan Ryan?  He of the .175 batting average and .237 slugging percentage coming into the game?  Wow.  I turned towards some Cardinal fans at the game, caught the eye of one, and said “Brendan Ryan?  You kidding me?”  He laughed and shrugged his shoulders.

Ryan had three hits to pace the Cardinals, who survived a seventh inning scare and beat San Diego 8-3 today, salvaging one of the three games.

Odd.  San Diego finally drives in a runner in scoring position and loses the game.

Albert Pujols also homered for St Louis.  I think I’ve seen Albert hit a HR just about every time the Cardinals are in San Diego.  Not saying I’ve seen him hit a home run in every game I’ve been to here, but I’ve seen him hit one a lot.  The one I remember best is the HR off the batter’s eye he hit back in 2006.  What a shot.

PJ Walters – what can you say?  He pitched great in a tough situation.  Only his second start in the majors, his first in over a year, and he got through 5 scoreless.  It helped he had Wade LeBlanc at the plate in the second with two out and the bases loaded, although LeBlanc has swung the bat well in 2010 – and put a bit of a charge in his flyball to right that ended that inning.

I didn’t keep score, so I don’t have any unique insight from Thursday’s contest.  This is a rare occurrence for me, but I have an excuse – I took my oldest boy to his first baseball game.  My Dad took me to my first game, and I watched the Dodgers bludgeon St Louis 11-0 – and eventually became a Cardinal fan.  My son fared much better.  I hope I didn’t just fate him into becoming a Padre fan.

I took some photos at the game, but I put them at up over at Padres Trail (they’ll be up at 9:30 CDT).  No the Cardinals didn’t wear the powder blues to go along with the Padre throwbacks, which is too bad.

On to Chicago.

Leave a comment

Filed under Annual Petco trip, Cardinals recap, San Diego Padres, St Louis Cardinals

Leave a Reply

