UCB Project – Questions with Redbird Report

This month, the United Cardinal Bloggers turned inward to get to know each other better.  I had the pleasure of taking with Cole, the lead writer at Redbird Report.  We each asked and answered a series of questions about Blogging and the Cardinals.  Cole’s responses are presented below for your enjoyment.

1.  How long have you been a Cardinals fan? The first games I remember watching were during the 1996 season when Ozzie Smith played his final season in St. Louis and the Cardinals lost in the NLCS to the Braves. I was seven years old at the time, so a lot of those memories are faint. But I certainly remember the 1998 home run chase season. So since about 1996 I’ve been a fan, with 1998 really being the year that major memories started happening.
2.  What is your favorite (or first) Cardinal memory (feel free to answer both if you want)? Well, my previous answer sort of fills this one as well. But aside from the McGwire 62nd home run, my favorite memory is probably Wainwright’s final strike in the 2006 World Series. It’s the background on my phone. But Yadier Molina’s home run in the NLCS vs. the Mets that same year is a close second.
3.  What got you into blogging? I’m a journalism student, so sports writing is what I plan on getting into once I graduate college. I started a sports blog my sophomore year of high school and this Cardinals blog came about just a little less than two years ago. I don’t get to post as often as I’d like, simply because I’m the Sports Editor at my college paper and I’m constantly busy.
4.  Is Edwin Jackson a Cardinal in 2012? I’d like to think so. He was clearly the centerpiece of the Rasmus trade, and seems to be the guy that the Cardinals might be using to replace Chris Carpenter in the rotation because, let’s face it, his time is limited. If Jackson is gone, it sort of makes that trade all for naught, at least in my opinion.
5.  Is Lance Berkman a Cardinal in 2012? I think he will be, but it will be on a one-year contract with probably an option at the end. That’s the only thing that makes sense at this point.
6. How do you come to your post ideas?  What kind of research do you do beforehand? Generally a lot of what I post is opinionated, so I wait until I feel strongly enough about something. I know I’m not going to break any Cardinals news and that’s why people read my blog. For stats I always use Baseball Reference, but I don’t do a whole lot of “research” for my posts like I would for a story that I do for my school paper, mainly because my blog is there for opinion.
7.  When was the last Cardinal game you attended?   The last game I attended was this summer in Cincinnati. I’m not sure what the exact date was but it was the game that Carpenter pitched against Arroyo and the Cardinals won. When was the first? I honestly can’t remember the first Cardinals game that I went to because I’ve been to so many. I think that’s a good thing.
8.  What are your thoughts on the Rasmus trade? I was a Rasmus fan. I really was excited to watch him grow as a player. I think he was one of the most misunderstood players on the team, maybe even in baseball. I understand that it had to be done and that it was inevitable, but it was hard to see him go. I wasn’t exactly wild about what they got in return either. I think Jackson has the potential to be good because he’s still young. The same thing goes with Rzepczynski. It’s hard to get excited about guys like Corey Patterson and Octavio Dotel, though.
9.  How much longer do you think LaRussa manages the Cardinals? Not much. Personally, I’m ready for a change. I’m a big fan of Tony, and understand he’ll be a Hall of Famer, but his method just isn’t working anymore. It’s been the same thing the past three seasons now. Sure, they made the playoffs in 2009, but they limped into the postseason and it showed against L.A. The past two seasons have virtually mirrored each other. So-so at the beginning, a really hot summer, then a complete fallout in the late summer and early August months. I’m ready for something new.
10. Will St Louis honor Wainwright’s options for 2012 and 2013? Wainwright will be a Cardinal in 2012, 2013, 2014 and beyond, in my opinion. He’s one of the faces of the franchise and there’s simply no way the Cardinals can get rid of him justly. Sure, they need to pay Albert, but Wainwright is just as valuable to this team as Albert.
Thanks Cole!  Best of luck in your journalism career.
1 Comment

Filed under General Baseball, UCB topic

One response to “UCB Project – Questions with Redbird Report

  1. Pingback: UCB August Project: Get To Know A UCBer — United Cardinal Bloggers

Leave a Reply

